The Ghana Black Stars ahead of their clash against South Africa needed a win to give them any chance of making it to the play-off stages to give them a chance of qualification to the Qatar FIFA world cup 2022.
The match which started rather on the high by the Ghana Black Stars has had some hit backs after Senegalese referee Ndiaye Maguetta awarded a penalty to Ghana.
The penalty which seemed to many as poor did not rescind the decision of the referee as maintained it was an infringement. Referee Ndiaye who was closer to the action pointed to the penalty spot after Ghana and Leicester defender, Daniel Amartey went to ground.
Hugo Broos, the coach of South Africa among other top South African football administrators have lashed at the referee for poor officiating and for awarding such a penalty in a crucial encounter.
Andre Ayew converted the penalty in the 33rd minute to give Ghana the most sorted after lead. His penalty converted in the first half of the game proved to be enough to secure Ghana passage to the playoff phase having finished first in Group G. Although both teams finished level on 13 points, a tie-breaker of a superior number of goals scored by both teams saw Ghana progressing to the play-off rounds.
Speaking in a post match interview, South African Coach Hugo Broos expressed his dissatisfaction with the performance of the referee.
“I congratulate Ghana but I congratulate my boys also because we played against a very aggressive opponent which the referee allowed, I am very disappointed in the result but I’m proud of my players. But I have to say, the referee today allowed Ghana to be too aggressive. I have nothing against aggressive play but it has to be legal aggression.”
With his call on the penalty been fictitious, the Belgian again said he did not see it clear from his position. This comment have made people to doubt his argument whether or not he has a point to a claim noting he did not see it clear as the referee did from his angle.
“I couldn’t see it. I just saw Daniel Amartey go down. He went down many times during the game, but I didn’t see the incident. But I saw my players were surprised.”
SAFA have also lashed at the Senegalese referee and threatened to involve CAS for further investigations into the game. But with more evidence coming in pictures shows Daniel Amartey was held back in a goal scoring opportunity.